Controversy in GNOME 3

Wow. Linux users complain. Whereas, they are strong users. They give people new experience outside Windows, anywhere. They solve problems what the usual users can’t do. They often do anything by themself. They are usually autodidact. But when they complain to GNOME developer, what’s wrong? Certainly there is a mistake in GNOME. What is the problem? Whereas I don’t feel disturbed like people over there. But I try to list all problems I can here.

Ah, before continue, this is a sample of GNOME 3 desktop environment. You can compare with GNOME 2.

And this is my old GNOME 2 in low resolution:

Searching for Trouble

Before, actualy this is the main topic for me 7 days before creating this blog. I confused the way people feel confused. Why should be confused? I don’t feel confused with new GNOME. Why and why? After browsing some sites, I find the answer. People clash with user experience in new GNOME.

I will write it freely. So I list here the problems I can understand.

  1. Uncustomizable new GNOME.
  2. No right click.
  3. No shut down option in menu.
  4. No minimize and maximize buttons.
  5. ALT TAB items grouped.
  6. Different workspace concept.
  7. Developer do change for something don’t need to change.
  8. Truly different user interface with previous GNOME.

Actually there are more problems. You can see them in some sites[1][2]. I list only what I can understand. Okay, it seems a simple problem. About user experience. But it can be big if it faces users. Users hold anything.

It’s Like Vista Case

Do you remember Windows Vista? Yes it has awesome Aero User Interface. But it is complicated, has many problems, and users hate it. The main issue of Vista is slow. Slower than XP. Even some users ask to downgrade their Vista to XP (wow, cool). Because of what? I see this issue caused of different user experience. Completely all aspects which are user interact with the operating system. Users enjoy XP for years and they are really enjoyed! They know XP simplicity and its speed was wow. They never annoyed with UAC in XP or disturbed by too many dont send in XP. But Microsoft changed it. So users got angry. And I ask you, who uses Vista today?

I feel the new GNOME faces same problem with Vista. Do you feel the same? In my mind, appear a new box subtitutes old box. And the owner of the box doesn’t recognize it. The same case. Developers changes the user experience and boom.

GNOME 2 Apparently Beautiful

Maybe some user disagree if GNOME 2 is fast, pretty, configurable, and highly usable. In one word, beautiful. If you disagree with my statement, you can understand now with the reality of GNOME 3. Somebody abuses GNOME 3 with bad words. It is point us that something wrong with GNOME 3. So if we know something wrong with it, the GNOME 2 will tasted beautiful. Nah, you can see this screen image of GNOME 2:

Maybe some eyes will cheated like me. Whereas, there is clear text above the picture in the original post[2] describing this is a Macbuntu result. Macbuntu is magic for GNOME 2 in order to make it mimic Mac OS X. But I have cheated, I thought it is real Mac OS X. So, is GNOME 2 not beautiful?

But hey, GNOME 2 can mimic Vista above.

Unfortunately, it can mimic Seven too:

No ‘My Things Done’

Let me quote someone: “… I want to get things done. I don’t really care what kernel I’m running or what flavor of code was used to weave the experience for me. I repeat, I want to get things done …” I got this from GNOME user gives me above Macbuntu picture. So, what do you think? With GNOME 2 you can do all your tasks fast. And all tasks get done. But with GNOME 3, many tasks get undone. My Things Done is absolute rule in mind for all users especially man like my father (he doesn’t know what is window, what is taskbar, what is bla, but please my job finished). Simply, don’t think heavy.

Taskbar was Gone

Both Windows and Linux users use taskbar for saving temporarily window(s) they open. They are working with one window and saving another windows that opened simultaneously. Simply if you open Writer for writing, Banshee for hearing, also Firefox for browsing, plus one Nautilus for managing, you will minimize all except Writer you are using now. If you want one appear, enough with one click to its bar with its icon in the taskbar. Nah, the problem is where is the taskbar? She’s gone. Users lost big facility they use everyday. They use this frequently to finish their job.

GNOME 2 Taskbar

KDE 4 Taskbar

No Compiz Dream

It is my own issue. I have dreamed Compiz for so long. Wanna use Compiz in my GNOME 2. But now GNOME changes, Dude. And GNOME 3 doesn’t receive Compiz even my Unity receive it. I’ve installed them in one Ubuntu. So, will you remember some of this screen pictures?

Pictures taken from a site[3].

For information, Indonesia has little number of users compared with Windows users. Seriously minority. And I was waiting a machine for promoting Compiz Fusion to them. Minimum, my friends at school. Now the machine is beside me but the Compiz blown away. I know myself, I interested to Linux because of Compiz. Now, people’s turn. They have chance to be interested in Linux over Compiz😀 I still believe this. I don’t care with new technology. I know my way, my oldish way. Yes Compiz dream. You have same experience like me will understand easily.

I believe that most users beyond Linux will be amazed. They will be amazed yet until unpredictable time. Although I show them the old but deadly Compiz Fusion. I believe they don’t know Linux. I believe they don’t understand OS classification between kernel and desktop environment. But they know what awesome old Compiz Fusion is. Even Vista (expensive cost) can’t do what GNOME 2 do with Compiz.

Comments I’ve Collected

I tried to collect some good comments over the internet about GNOME 3. And yeah I found them. I’ll choose a little of them here.

4101:

1. Return configuration options to the user.
2. Return configuration options to the user.
3. Return configuration options to the user.

4141:

Go back to the 2.x interface.
Go back to the 2.x interface. Please.

to be continued…

___________________

[1] http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=article&item=gnome_survey_part5&num=1

[2] http://www.dedoimedo.com/computers/gnome-3.html

[3] http://images.linuxidx.com/img.php?filter=off&page=1&q=compiz

Leave a Reply

