Bleeding Edge Style Posting

Bismillahirrahmanirrahim.

I maintain about a dozen of blogs, both in Indonesian and English, and all of them talk about GNU/Linux. As a real newbie, I have written probably more than 500 articles (including ebooks) about GNU/Linux within them and outside of them. Recently I found many of my GNU/Linux friends in Indonesia excited about using Archlinux. They love Archlinux bleeding edge style of distributing software packages, they said it is rolling release. Apparently I was excited too in the way of AUR, where my friends can get newest version of same program I use directly. Archlinux gave them more advantages than Ubuntu (official or PPA) in this case. Archlinux’s bleeding edge style, I describe it personally as forever LTS, not waiting (not freezing) for stable package to release a new package. I take that concept into my new writing style. I call it bleeding edge posting. This article is also a bleeding edge post.

Advantages

After seeing bleeding edge way of Archlinux, recently I thought I must take that way to write. So I fire up my old blog (restava) to bear my new style of writing. I call this style bleeding edge posting. I don’t wait my writing for long-time editing. I post my posts directly. A bleeding edge post of me is an article which is containing at least a title and a sentence. But every post contains exactly one single idea, any new idea I find, so I don’t need to be frustrated when I find an idea and I must post it quickly. A bleeding edge post is usually finished in one time sitting duration. The main advantage of bleeding edge posting is I don’t need to wait to post any new idea where waiting is a very frustrating thing for a writer like me. It is a big win, where I can provide myself ideas collection in one place so I can make more long-editing posts in another blogs based on bleeding edge posts in bleeding edge blog. It is just similar thing between Fedora (bleeding edge*) and Red Hat Enterprise Linux (conservative edge**). My restava blog is “Fedora”, and my another blogs are “Red Hat Enterprise Linux”. Another advantage is I will never forget any of new ideas anymore. Another advantage of doing bleeding edge posting is I can fill my blog with more posts every month. If you are a writer, especially in GNU/Linux scope, bleeding edge posting saves your time so much.

Examples

  • If I find something important about apt, I can write it directly. I don’t need to compose a complete writing draft, do a little research first, experience errors, fixing errors, making conclusion, etc. I write what I find, although it is just a title. Example.
  • If I find something important about Scribus and Inkscape, I can write it directly. Example and example.
  • If I find something important about Slackware and Archlinux, I do it. Example.
  • Every time I try a new GNU/Linux distribution in a live session, I always take many screenshots of it. If I have many screenshots of gNewSense, Trisquel, openSUSE, new version of Ubuntu, I can be frustrated if I don’t post them. So bleeding edge posting saves my frustration. Examples.
  • Then outside of this scope, I can write more polished post based on bleeding edge blog on another blogs. I can spend time writing long posts there, after I collect enough bleeding edge posts here. For example, after posting a post about screenshots collection of recent Ubuntu, I can write a proper Ubuntu review based on screenshots collected. Example.

It Spreads

Well, I coined my own style bleeding edge posting about one year ago. It starts with my restava. I proofed I like this style so much. It gives me more convenient way of writing. I felt comfortable so much with this style. So, I began to spread this style into my another blog. Not just restava. I did it on desaininkscape, I did it here and inside this article too.

How About Tutorial Articles?

Yes, I admit that tutorial needs more times to write. So basically I can’t write tutorial in bleeding edge style. I must write tutorials in a very careful way, very comprehensive way. Every tutorial should be correct, should be free from errors. Yes, I place my tutorials in my conservative edge blogs especially my main blog. My main blog is just one. But because I have already accustomed with bleeding edge style, I can write long articles as technical GNU/Linux tutorials. Actually they are intended to be personal notes only but anyone can consider them as tutorials. I have few examples here and here. Yes, bleeding edge style can be used as a way to write comprehensive tutorials. Surprise.

I Know It’s Funny

If you are a distribution developer, you probably will laugh at me. I know it’s funny, though. But truly Archlinux bleeding edge style is the source of this style. Probably you have more proper terms than bleeding edge posting and have using it before me. Please, you can let me know.

_______

*) I describe Fedora as bleeding edge to compare quickly, to make sense quicker. I know Fedora prefer to be credited as leading edge. To sum it up, bleeding edge = risky while leading edge = not risky. Thanks for alunux @ #ubuntu-indonesia to point me.

**) I describe Red Hat Enterprise Linux as conservative edge just because I don’t know the antonym of bleeding edge. I don’t find it anywhere. If you know, please let me know.

Leave a Reply

