KDE neon Repo, Sources.list, and plasmashell 5.10.95

Bismillahirrahmanirrahim.

I am using KDE neon currently. To be specific, it’s neon dev-unstable (instead of neon dev stable), OS version 5.10.5. As a not technologist, I simply want to try Plasma 5.11 beta that’s just released 14 September ago. So I downloaded the 17 or 18 September (sorry, I forgot the date) built image. I assumed that all dev versions of neon must have 5.11 already at 17 September, so I tried it and … no. I didn’t found the plasmashell binary at 5.10.95. Instead, it’s still 5.10.90. Hey, so, where is the 5.10.95? This is written because I find problems while writing Plasma 5.11 article at UbuntuBuzz.

Today I do a short searching and to make it short, I found 5.10.95 at dev-stable repo instead of my dev-unstable. I don’t know a bit about continous-integration, but this seems strange to me. Previously, I always think of unstable to be always newer than stable. But by this case I know I need to learn more.

Sources.list

About the sources.list you can find it at /etc/apt/sources.list.d/neon.list:

Default:

deb http://archive.neon.kde.org/dev/unstable xenial main
deb-src http://archive.neon.kde.org/dev/unstable xenial main

I change it to dev-stable:

deb http://archive.neon.kde.org/dev/stable xenial main
deb-src http://archive.neon.kde.org/dev/unstable xenial main

Where is the plasmashell binary?

I thought, plasmashell binary must be in plasma-desktop package. Apparently I was wrong, because, dpkg -L clearly shows it’s in plasma-workspace package instead. That explains why upgrading plasma-desktop manually doesn’t upgrade the version of plasmashell binary! Now I know I need to learn more. Compare the two outputs below:

neon@neon:~$ dpkg -L plasma-workspace | grep bin/plasmashell
/usr/bin/plasmashell
neon@neon:~$ dpkg -L plasma-desktop | grep bin/plasmashell
neon@neon:~$

The About

And now the System Settings shows my Plasma is 5.10.95. This is the 5.11 beta.


This article is licensed under CC BY-SA 3.0.

Leave a comment